Your reliable partner in NVH testing

NVH testing – Noise, Vibration, Harshness

These terms describe audible (noise) or tangible (vibration) vibrations in vehicles. Harshness is the rough transmission of vibrations, felt as a sudden tremor, in the speed range of the motor from 20 to 100 Hertz. Minimising these vibrations such that the end consumer in the vehicle no longer perceives them as disturbing is a major aim during the development of the drivetrain. NVH testing enables early recognition of NVH phenomena, which can then be avoided early during the development stage of the powertrain. This later makes driving in the production vehicle more comfortable and serves to avoid complaints and a loss of image.

For more than 20 years, ATESTEO has offered reliable NVH testing in test benches. At the largest independent European testing centre for drivetrains, our headquarters in Alsdorf, Germany, we test your transmissions during development for audible and tangible vibrations. With our own key equipment for testing powertrains and a total of three of our own NVH component test benches, an acoustics dynamometer, and a test track, we assist you to identify Noise Vibration Harshness phenomena early and to optimise your transmissions during development.

NVH testing: vibration measurements and vibration reduction at test benches

Enabling the recognition of NVH phenomena early during development; thus, avoiding them in later standard production vehicles, is the aim of our NVH test benches. This is accomplished by frontloading the NVH issues during development of the transmission and system. In addition to the conventional NVH test bench, ATESTEO offers two class 1 NVH test benches in accordance with ISO 3745, on which both FWD and AWD transmissions may be tested. Our NVH test benches permit NVH testing of all forms of transmissions, and are set up for the special needs of electric and hybrid drives. An additional electric machine (permanent magnet motor) may be employed to enable HiL testing (Hardware in the Loop).

Performance spectrum in NVH testing

Conventional NVH tests

  • Engine torque pulsation simulation drive
  • Rattle and howling tests
  • Background noise <35 dB(A)
  • Start-stop simulation
  • Sound pressure and sound power measurements from 150 Hz to 16,000 Hz

HiL testing (Hardware in the Loop)

  • Highly dynamic tests under real operating conditions
  • Substitution of simulation models for real mechanics
  • Real-time rest bus simulation to control the machines
  • Low inertia values

Testing of e-axles and hybrid drive systems

  • Electric motors with high torques are used
  • Speeds of up to 20,000 rpm
  • Low noise emissions
  • Battery simulator for e-motors
  • Power meter for measuring efficiency
  • Components are balanced during operation

Component testing

  • Highly dynamic machines to test components such as dual-mass flywheels, transmissions (gear units), or rear axles
  • Rapid control of the drive units with 6 kHz
  • Tests of e-motors and vehicle inverters
  • Hollow shaft machine for providing drive with a coaxial construction

Contact NVH Testing

If you would like to learn more about our NVH testing services and capabilities, please call or email us.

Your message to ATESTEO

NVH testing for electric and hybrid drive systems

The development of hybrid and electric vehicles involves new challenges for the development of NVH testing. We have taken these into account and met them when developing our new NVH test benches.

Because of the properties of electric drives, new demands on the drives of NVH test benches arise, such as low vibration response or a low system response up to speeds of 20,000 rpm and low noise emission. We respond to these challenges with comprehensive new developments as follows:

NVH drive unit

Reinforced, preloaded, high balance quality, and filter. Low vibration excitation.

Motor sheathing

Curved, covered, and with double-walled insulation. Sound emission < 35 dB(A.)

Mount for drive and test object

High natural frequencies and dampening materials. Low system responses.

Array of microphones for measuring sound

Fully automated for high reproducibility and quickly changing out the test object.

For testing electric and hybrid drive systems, it is possible to simulate the correspondingly necessary components of the electric or hybrid vehicle in the NVH test bench. First and foremost, battery simulators are required.

HiL testing on NVH test bench

The new test benches are equipped not only for NVH analysis, but also for HiL testing. By using an additional permanent magnet (PM) motor, hardware in the loop simulations may be conducted directly on the ATESTEO test bench. HiL involves testing individual components by substituting a simulation model for the real mechanics and constructing a realistic test environment for the test object.

NVH testing for the entire vehicle

Besides the detection and identification of NVH phenomena on the component test bench, ATESTEO also offers comprehensive NVH testing on the complete vehicle. On the roller dynamometer test bench for acoustics testing and our own in-house test track with a test surface with acoustic absorption properties in accordance with ISO 10844, ATESTEO measures noises and vibrations on the complete vehicle in a secured environment as passenger cars, commercial vehicles, and heavy-duty vehicles are driven. ATESTEO tests all types of drivetrains, from electric and hybrid drive systems to combustion engines.

NVH measurements on the rolling dynamometer test bench

Testing of individual assemblies such as transmissions or axle drives in the entire vehicle for sounds and vibrations on the ATESTEO roller dynamometer test bench for acoustic testing.

Vibration and noise tests in the vehicle

Vehicle interior noise measurement at the test track and on the roller dynamometer test bench for acoustic testing. Data acquisition and analysis of, for example, structure-borne sound, airborne sound, clutch pedal travel, and engine speeds.

PBN measurements

Conducting measurements of exterior pass-by noise during accelerated pass-by driving on the ATESTEO test track in accordance with DIN ISO 362 and Guideline R 51. Data acquisition and analysis of the sound pressure level and driving speed.

Own test track with acoustic coating according to ISO 10844

At the ATESTEO proving grounds (test track), we can conduct outdoor pass-by noise measurements when the vehicle is driving past under acceleration, in accordance with DIN ISO 362 and according to the new guideline R 51. The vehicle to be tested approaches the measuring site at a constant speed, then accelerates with a wide-open throttle while entering the site until the rear of the vehicle has left the measuring site. During this accelerated pass-by, the sound pressure levels on both sides of the vehicle and the vehicle speed are recorded and analysed. The test track surface is prepared in accordance with DIN 10844 and adapted to the needs of heavy-duty vehicles.

Our expert teams for your NVH testing challenges

We offer you a wide range of services and expertise in the field of NVH testing. Three NVH teams in Alsdorf, Germany support the following fields of activity:

Team NVH test benches

  • NVH testing of powertrain components, conventional drives and competence for electric and hybrid drives
  • NVH benchmarking of transmissions

Team NVH measurements at endurance test benches

  • Structure-borne and airborne noise measurements

Team NVH measurement of the entire vehicle

  • NVH testing on the acoustic roller dynamometer and test track

Download

Find all further information about test bench based vibration tests and our NVH measurements on the complete vehicle in our current performance brochures.

Brochure NVH testing on test bench
Brochure NVH testing on entire vehicle

Considerable development expertise in NVH testing

Drivetrain simulation

ATESTEO has the know-how and technical facilities to conduct complex simulations; for example, those of the powertrain. This great expertise also flows into the development of new test benches.

Frontloading during the development phase

Employing NVH test benches enables the frontloading of NVH testing during the development process. Through using corresponding analysis software, NVH phenomena such as gear whining become visible.

This might also interest you

Ihr starker Partner im NVH Testing

NVH Testing – Noise, Vibration, Harshness

Das sind Begriffe, die hörbare (Noise) oder spürbare (Vibration) Schwingungen in Fahrzeugen umschreiben. Harshness steht dabei für den rauen Übergang im Drehzahlbereich des Motors von 20 auf 100 Hertz. Diese Schwingungen zu minimieren, sodass der Endkunde sie im Fahrzeug nicht mehr wahrnimmt, ist ein großes Ziel in der Entwicklung des Antriebsstrangs. NVH Testing ermöglicht ein frühzeitiges Erkennen von NVH Phänomenen, die bereits in der Entwicklung des Antriebsstrangs vermieden werden können. Das macht das Fahren später im Serien-Fahrzeug komfortabler und verhindert Reklamationen und Imageverluste.

Seit mehr als 20 Jahren bietet ATESTEO zuverlässiges NVH Testing auf Prüfständen. Im größten unabhängigen europäischen Testzentrum für Antriebsstränge, unserem Hauptsitz in Alsdorf, prüfen wir Ihre Getriebe in der Entwicklung auf hör- und spürbare Schwingungen. Mit eigenem Schlüsselequipment zum Testen von Antriebssträngen und insgesamt drei eigenen NVH Komponentenprüfständen, einem Akustik-Rollenprüfstand und einer Teststrecke helfen wir Ihnen, Noise Vibration Harshness Phänomene frühzeitig zu identifizieren und so Ihre Getriebe bereits in der Entwicklung zu optimieren.

NVH Testing: Prüfstandbasierte Schwingungsuntersuchungen und Schwingungsreduktion

NVH Phänomene bereits in der Entwicklung zu erkennen und dadurch im späteren Serien-Fahrzeug zu vermeiden, ist Ziel im NVH Testing von ATESTEO. Dies ermöglicht ein Frontloading der NVH Probleme in der Getriebe- und Systementwicklung. Neben den konventionellen NVH Prüfstanden bietet Ihnen ATESTEO zwei NVH Prüfstände der Klasse 1 nach ISO 3745, auf denen sowohl FWD-, als auch AWD-Getriebe getestet werden können. Unsere NVH Prüfstände erlauben das NVH Testing sämtlicher Getriebebauformen und sind auf die speziellen Anforderungen von elektrischen und hybriden Antrieben ausgelegt. Eine zusätzliche PM-Maschine kann eingesetzt werden, um HiL Testing (Hardware in the Loop) zu ermöglichen.

Leistungsspektrum im NVH Testing

Konventionelle NVH Untersuchungen

  • Engine Torque Pulsation Simulation-Antrieb
  • Rassel- und Heuluntersuchungen
  • Hintergrundgeräusch < 35 dB(A)
  • Start-Stop-Simulation
  • Schalldruck- und Schallleistungsmessungen von 150 Hz bis 16.000 ​Hz

HiL Testing (Hardware in the Loop)

  • Hochdynamische Tests unter realen Betriebsbedingungen
  • Ersatz realer Mechanik durch Simulationsmodelle
  • Echtzeit Reststrangsimulation zur Ansteuerung der Maschinen
  • Geringe Trägheiten

Testing von E-Achsen und Hybridantrieben

  • Eingesetzte E-Motoren mit hohen Drehmomenten
  • Drehzahlen bis zu 20.000 rpm
  • Niedrige Geräuschemission
  • Batteriesimulator für E-Motoren
  • Powermeter zur Effizienzmessung
  • Betriebsgewuchtete Aufbauten

Komponententest

  • Hochdynamische Maschinen zum Testen von Komponenten wie Zwei-Massen-Schwungräder, Getriebe oder Hinterachsen
  • Schnelle Regelung der Antriebe mit 6 kHz
  • Tests von E-Motoren und Fahrzeugumrichtern
  • Hohlwellenmaschine zum Antreiben mit koaxialer Bauweise

Kontakt NVH Testing

Wenn Sie mehr über unsere Leistungen und Möglichkeiten im NVH Testing erfahren möchten, schreiben Sie uns eine Nachricht. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Anfrage.

Ihre Nachricht an ATESTEO

NVH Testing für Elektroantriebe und Hybridantriebe

Die Entwicklung von Hybrid- und Elektrofahrzeugen bringt neue Herausforderungen in der NVH Entwicklung mit sich. Diese wurden bei der Konzeptionierung unserer modernen NVH Prüfstände bewältigt und umgesetzt.

Aufgrund der Eigenheiten der elektrischen Antriebe entstehen neue Anforderungen an die Antriebe der NVH Prüfstände. Geringe Schwingungsanregungen oder Systemantworten bis Drehzahlen von 20.000 rpm sowie niedrige Geräuschemissionen müssen berücksichtigt werden. Das realisieren wir durch umfangreiche neue Entwicklungen:

NVH Antriebsmaschine

Versteifungen, Vorspannungen, hohe Wuchtgüte und Filter. Geringe Schwingungsanregungen.

Gestell für Antrieb und Prüfling

Hohe Eigenfrequenzen und dämpfende Werkstoffe. Geringe Systemantworten.

Motorumkleidung

Abrundungen, Abdeckungen und doppelwandige Isolation. Geräuschemission < 35 dB(A).

Mikrofonarray zur Schallleistungsmessung

Vollautomatisiert für hohe Reproduzierbarkeit und schnellen Prüflingswechsel.

Für das NVH Testing von elektrischen und hybriden Antrieben ist es möglich, auf dem NVH Prüfstand die entsprechend erforderlichen Komponenten des Elektro- und Hybrid-Fahrzeuges zu simulieren. Dazu gehören in erster Linie Batterie-Simulatoren.

HiL Testing im NVH Prüfstand

ATESTEO | HiL Testing (Hardware in the loop) im NVH-Prüfstand. Testen von einzelnen Bauteilen im Prüfstand unter realitätsnahen Testumgebungen.

Die modernen NVH Prüfstände sind neben Messungen zur Noise Vibration Harshness Bewertung, auch zum HiL Testing (Hardware in the Loop) ausgelegt. Durch den Einsatz einer zusätzlichen PM-Maschine (Permanentmagnet-erregte Synchronmotoren) können direkt am ATESTEO Prüfstand Hardware in the Loop Simulationen durchgeführt werden. Dabei werden einzelne Bauteile getestet, indem die reale Mechanik durch ein Simulationsmodell ersetzt, und für das Testobjekt eine realitätsnahe Testumgebung aufgebaut wird.

NVH Testing am Gesamtfahrzeug

Neben dem Aufspüren und Identifizieren von NVH Phänomenen am Komponentenprüfstand bietet ATESTEO auch umfangreiches NVH Testing am Gesamtfahrzeug. Auf dem Akustik-Rollenprüfstand und der hauseigenen Teststrecke mit Akustikbelag nach ISO 10844 misst ATESTEO in abgesicherter Umgebung die Geräusche und Schwingungen am Gesamtfahrzeug beim Fahren von Pkw und Lkw. Getestet werden alle Antriebe – vom Elektroantrieb über Hybridantrieb bis hin zum Verbrennungsmotor.

ATESTEO | NVH testing (Noise Vibration Harshness) for the entire vehicle. NVH measurements of transmissions and drives on the rolling dynamometer test bench. Acoustic testing on roller dynamometer.

NVH Messungen am Rollenprüfstand

Prüfungen von Einzelaggregaten wie Getriebe oder Achsantrieb im Gesamtfahrzeug auf Geräusche und Schwingungen am ATESTEO Akustik-Rollenprüfstand.

ATESTEO | NVH testing (Noise Vibration Harshness) for the entire vehicle. Vibration and noise tests in the vehicle at the test track or the roller dynanometer. Acoustic testing and data analysis of structure-borne sound, airborne sound, clutch pedal travel and engine speeds.

Schwingungs- und Geräuschprüfungen im Fahrzeug

Innengeräuschmessung im Fahrzeug auf der Teststrecke und am Akustik-Rollenprüfstand. Aufzeichnung und Auswertung von beispielsweise Körperschall, Luftschall, Kupplungspedalweg und Drehzahlen.

ATESTEO | NVH testing (Noise Vibration Harshness) for the entire vehicle. PBN measurements. Pass-by noise measurements is tested while driving on the ATESTEO test track. Data analysis of sound pressure level and the driving speed.

PBN-Messungen

Durchführung von Außengeräuschvorbeifahrtmessungen bei beschleunigter Vorbeifahrt nach UN ECE 51 auf der ATESTEO Messstrecke. Aufzeichnung und Auswertung der Schalldruckpegel und der Fahrgeschwindigkeit.

ATESTEO | NVH testing (Noise Vibration Harshness) for the entire vehicle. ATESTEO inhouse test track with acoustic coating according to ISO 10844. ATESTEO conducts outdoor pass-by noise measurements when the vehicle is driving past under acceleration.

Eigene Teststrecke mit Akustikbelag nach ISO 10844

Auf der sichtgeschützten ATESTEO Messstrecke ist die Durchführung von Außengeräuschvorbeifahrtmessungen bei beschleunigter Vorbeifahrt nach DIN ISO 362 und nach der neuen Richtlinie R 51 möglich. Das zu untersuchende Fahrzeug nähert sich dem Messplatz mit konstanter Geschwindigkeit, um bei der Einfahrt mit voll geöffneter Drosselklappe so lange zu beschleunigen bis das Fahrzeugheck den Messplatz verlassen hat. Während dieser beschleunigten Vorbeifahrt werden die Schalldruckpegel zu beiden Seiten des Fahrzeugs sowie die Fahrgeschwindigkeit aufgezeichnet und ausgewertet. Der Fahrbahnbelag der Messstrecke ist gemäß DIN 10844 ausgeführt und auf die Anforderung von Schwerlastfahrzeugen abgestimmt.

Unsere Experten-Teams für Ihre NVH Testing Aufgaben

Wir bieten Ihnen ein breites Spektrum an Leistungen und Know-how im Bereich NVH Testing. Drei NVH Teams betreuen in Alsdorf für Sie folgende Aufgabenbereiche:

Team NVH Prüfstände

  • NVH Testing von Antriebsstrangkomponenten, konventionellen Antrieben und Kompetenz für Elektro- und Hybridantriebe
  • NVH Benchmarking von Getrieben

Team NVH Messungen an Dauerlauf-Prüfständen und Schadensfrüherkennung

  • Körper- und Luftschallmessungen

Team NVH Gesamtfahrzeugmessung

  • NVH Testing auf dem Akustik-Rollenprüfstand und der Teststrecke
ATESTEO | NVH testing (Noise Vibration Harshness) expert team for your NVH testing challenges on NVH test benches, NVH measurements at endurance test benches and NVH measurement of the entire vehicle.

Download

Alle weiteren Informationen zu unseren NVH-Messungen am
Gesamtfahrzeug finden Sie in unserer aktuellen NVH Leistungsbroschüre.

Broschüre NVH Testing am Gesamtfahrzeug

Großes Entwicklungs-Know-How im NVH Testing

ATESTEO | NVH testing (Noise Vibration Harshness) development expertise. Drivetrain simulation. ATESTEO offers the technical facilities to conduct complex simulations and great expertise for your development.

Simulation des Antriebsstrangs

ATESTEO besitzt das Know-how und die technischen Möglichkeiten, komplexe Simulationen, beispielsweise des Antriebsstrangs, durchzuführen. Diese hohe Expertise fließt auch in die Entwicklung neuer Prüfstände ein.

ATESTEO | NVH testing (Noise Vibration Harshness) development expertise. Frontloading during the development phase. ATESTEO is using analysis software so that NVH phenomena become visible.

Frontloading in der Entwicklungsphase

Der Einsatz von NVH Prüfständen ermöglicht ein Frontloading von NVH Untersuchungen in der Entwicklungsphase. Durch die Verwendung von entsprechender Analysesoftware werden NVH Phänomene, wie zum Beispiel Getriebeheulen sichtbar.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren